Here you will find the biographies of major scientists and former CEO's

Friedrich Bayer (1825–1880)

He sowed the seed for the future Bayer AG by entering "Friedrich Bayer et. Compagnie" into the commercial register on August 1, 1863.

Johann Friedrich Weskott (1821–1876)

The master dyer founded the company together with salesman Friedrich Bayer.

Carl Duisberg (1861–1935)

One of the central figures in Bayer’s history. Duisberg’s work was crucial to Bayer’s progress toward becoming a global group of companies.

Felix Hoffmann (1868–1946)

The chemist invented the "drug of the century", Aspirin?.

Gerhard Domagk (1895–1964)

The scientist was awarded the Nobel Prize in 1939.

Otto Bayer (1902–1982)

Otto Bayer’s greatest achievements included the invention of polyurethane chemistry.

Ulrich Haberland (1900–1961)

The first Chairman of the Board of Management following World War II played the leading role in Bayer’s re-emergence in the 1950s.

Kurt Hansen (1910–2002)

Management Board Chairman from 1961 to 1974.
He played an outstanding part in the restructuring and international expansion of the Bayer Group.

Herbert Grünewald (1921–2002)

Management Board Chairman from 1974 to 1984.
A pioneer with respect to industry's ecological and social responsibility.

Hermann Josef Strenger (1928–2016)

As Management Board Chairman between 1984 and 1992, he strengthened the company’s divisional and financial structures.

Manfred Schneider (*1938)

His tenure as Management Board Chairman from 1992 to 2002 saw such important milestones as the reacquisition of Bayer’s trademark rights in the United States, the listing of Bayer AG’s shares on the New York Stock Exchange and the preparation of Bayer’s reorganization into the current holding structure.

Werner Wenning (*1946)

As Chairman of the Board of Management from 2002 to 2010, Wenning gave the Bayer Group a completely new structure comprising a strategic holding company, subgroups and service companies. Milestones during this period included the acquisitions of Schering AG, Berlin, Germany, and the consumer health business of Roche, the integration of Aventis CropScience and the spin-off of Lanxess.

Dr. Marijn Dekkers (*1957)

Marijn Dekkers’ term of office (2010-2016) saw a complete alignment of the Group toward the Life Science businesses. Under his leadership, Bayer acquired the consumer care business of Merck & Co., Inc., floated the MaterialScience subgroup on the stock market under the name “Covestro,” and repositioned itself as an integrated Group.

Werner Baumann (*1962)

Werner Baumann became Chairman of the Board of Management of Bayer AG on May 1, 2016.
Until his appointment as Chairman of the Board of Management, he was Chief Strategy and Portfolio Officer and also responsible for the Europe, Middle East and Africa Region.